Medicare Savings Programs

The Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB), Specified Low-income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB), Qualifying Individual (QI), and Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWI) are all different Medicare savings programs offered through a State’s specific plan. They offer several levels of savings depending on the clients’ qualifications and income.

Your client can get help from their state in paying for their Medicare premiums. In some cases, Medicare Savings Programs may also pay their Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance) and Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance) deductibles, coinsurance, and copayments if they meet certain conditions.

There are currently 4 kinds of Medicare Savings Programs:

  1. Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) Program

  2. Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) Program

  3. Qualifying Individual (QI) Program

  4. Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWI) Program

To view details for each plan visit the Medicare.gov site HERE.


How do I apply for Medicare Savings Programs?

If you answer yes to the following 3 questions, call your State Medicaid Program to see if you qualify for a Medicare Savings Program in your state:

  1. Do you have, or are you eligible for, Part A?

  2. Is your income for 2020 at, or below, the income limits listed for any of the programs above?

  3. Do you have limited resources, below the limits above?


It’s important to call or fill out an application if you think you could qualify for savings—even if your income or resources are higher than the amounts listed here.


Recent Posts

Sign In

Your username is the email you registered with.